Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

ohio posting laws?

Old 08-14-2012, 06:13 AM
Spike

Default ohio posting laws?

alright guys last year i bought a farm in southeast ohio and leased two. i have a neighbor on the farm i bought getting his panties up in a bunch because i posted my signs right on the line. he claims that they need to be 10 ft. off of the line on my side, when his fence is on the line and even on parts of my property (which im fine with, but just saying how does that make sense? lol). I can not find anywhere online about the laws on posting. i am a resident of PA and if this were the case in pa i would be perfectly fine. please help me out guys.
Old 08-14-2012, 06:49 AM
Nontypical Buck

Try this, it might not help, then again maybe it will......

http://www.ehow.com/list_6662730_law...igns-ohio.html
Old 08-14-2012, 07:08 AM
Spike

thank you.. yeah i looked at that artical yesterday... it has some good info but not imformitive on the proper way of placing a poster sign.
Old 08-14-2012, 09:16 AM
Nontypical Buck

I don't know about Ohio, but in MN and I believe WI. The signs only have to be posted "prominently" and about every 150' or so. Another place to look would be the DNR website for Ohio.
Old 08-14-2012, 04:48 PM
Spike

Why don't you go on the DNR web site get the phone number of the wild life officer in the county that you own land in and call them. I'm sure they would know or could get you an answer.
Old 08-16-2012, 12:57 PM
Giant Nontypical

Posted signs in Ohio are an invitation for the DNR to visit any time they drive by. If you post a property off limits it gives the dnr the right to make sure the signs are followed including you. If you don't mind the visit-s, have at it. I'm not thrilled with seeing people walk up on me on my own land.