HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   Late "crop" of fawns? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/367331-late-crop-fawns.html)

buckfever8991 07-08-2012 07:13 AM

Late "crop" of fawns?

I'm a volunteer firefighter in Illinois and we had a car vs deer wreck the other morning. After caring for the patients minor injuries and all the other things that come with a wreck I had a few minutes to look at the deer. It was an adult doe nothing new there, however something caught my eye, upon closer inspection it was an unborn almost full term fawn.

Anyone else seeing late fawns or does the forum believe this to be an isolated incident?

Topgun 3006 07-08-2012 08:05 AM

That's not unusual, as she probably didn't get bred in her first estrus cyle and got bred when she came in a second time in December. Normally our fawns up in this area are born in late May to early June and those does that didn't get bred in late October through November will breed into January sometimes with their fawns not dropping until July. I saw spotted twins one time here in southern Michigan during our late November deer season, so their Mom probably wasn't bred until as late as February or March.

buckfever8991 07-08-2012 09:29 AM

Well I was wondering about that, it just seemed so late to me I guess i just thought it was a little odd.

fastetti 07-08-2012 02:26 PM

I think it's a bit odd but not super out of the ordinary. It also could have been last years fawn and she wasn't bred until January. The last day of bow season in January I had a 4 point breed a doe within 30 yards of me so I figure if she has a fawn this year its also going to be a real late one. I was hunting Central Illinois as well. With this heat and lack of water that fawn would have to be pretty tough to survive. Enough with the sun already, we need the rain!