HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   Shotgun Criteria (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/367065-shotgun-criteria.html)

TexYoungBuk78 06-28-2012 10:59 PM

Shotgun Criteria

I'm new to deer hunting in general and never thought to use a shotgun to hunt deer. I own a shotgun and used it for quail hunting. I did some research and when I discovered some hunters use 20 gauge shotguns for deer hunting I became interested in trying it. My shotgun is a simple Remington 870 Express 20 gauge. Nothing fancy on it. I wanted to know what sort of ammo I should use, if i could leave the gun as is to hunt deer, and any sort of tips anyone might have for deer hunting with a shotgun.

BOWHUNTERCOP 06-29-2012 12:59 AM

the 20ga. is perfect for deer and deer size game, heck I even use it on black bears. Your gun is fine as is, but shotguns are very iffy on the type of ammo you use, some may work better then other, you have to try different brands. I would stick with 3" slugs (make sure your gun can handle up to 3") for better performance I would invest in a rifled/cantilever barrel with a scope in the 3-9x40 range. With this your shooting will improve plus you will reach out further then you would with your current barrel

Buckman308 06-29-2012 03:07 AM

I agree. A good slug barrel will certainly help. You can get good accuracy from a smooth ore too just be sure to use a rifled slug. Rifled barrels are still best though. The 20 is a great round though and many of the new loads are better ballistics then a 12ga. If you get a rifled barrel the Hornady sabot slugs work great otherwise the Remington and brenneke rifled slugs shoot good in the smoothbore

UncleNorby 06-29-2012 03:49 AM