HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   Which Tree Stand Do You Prefer? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/355368-tree-stand-do-you-prefer.html)

jrbsr 12-14-2011 08:35 AM

Which Tree Stand Do You Prefer?

Which tree stand do you use/like the best?

7.62NATO 12-14-2011 09:06 AM

I only have a climber. This is my first year using a tree stand, and I'd say I use it about 65% of the time. I like being up in a tree for several reasons, but climbers are a PITA on many levels. Since I only hunt public land, they are my only option if I want to get in the air.

I won’t vote since I have never used a lock on or ladder (what’s the big difference?), but I would vote for one or the other over a climber in a heartbeat if I had private land to hunt. I don’t care how good someone has become with a climber, there is no way you are going to be less intrusive with the noise you make or the time it takes you to get up into the tree and settled in, etc than you would be with a stand already in place. The only advantage of a climber is mobility….and possibly comfort with the lounge chairs some come with (like the Summit Viper). Fixed tree stands win in every other way.

salukipv1 12-14-2011 09:11 AM

Ladders all the way, I've sold all my climbers/lock ons, etc... and bought and continue to buy ladders.

I have 1 nice climber just in case, that sits int he garage or truck and never gets used.

as for mobility, 2 guys can move/set up a ladder in no time, and mount to almost any tree, vs. a climber must use a straight tree, it's hard enough finding a nice tree for a ladder let alone a perfect tree without branches for a climber... in the spot/near the spot you want to be.

magicman54494 12-14-2011 09:15 AM

Pretty much 100 % sling for me when I climb.

7.62NATO 12-14-2011 09:15 AM

Originally Posted by salukipv1 (Post 3889714)