Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Just About Done

Old 12-12-2011, 11:00 AM
Fork Horn

Default Just About Done

I believe I am just about done for the year. With eight in the freezer, my family and friends are well stocked and I am starting to get tired. I have been battling a serious illness for four years and my endurance is not what it once was. Last year, I hunted a total of 45-minutes. I did mange to kill a deer but required help just to get in the woods. This year I have logged a total of 30-hours in the stands and have had a great year.

I have one hunt left, a prime rut hunt in AL in January and that will do me. After years of spending 100-plus hunting days a year on the road, it is nice to say, "Ahh heck, I don't feel like going today." and not go. Fortunately, when it comes to deer or turkey, all I have to do is walk out the door.

Hope y'all had and are having a great season.

Last edited by scribe; 12-12-2011 at 11:02 AM.
Old 12-12-2011, 03:07 PM
Spike

30 hours in the stand and 8 deer down. That's pretty impressive!!!! I see that you say(in your other posts) you no longer shoot for the horns anymore and use the term "thinning" the herd loosely. You say that you can shoot 3 does in a day and can shoot 3 bucks in a day like it's a piece of cake. Do you live on a hunting preserve? It seems you must have an incredible abundance of deer in your back yard, if shooting deer comes that easy to you.