Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

See here's Why

Old 11-01-2011, 06:38 PM
Typical Buck

Default See here's Why

The other morning just after sunrise I shot a buck at 17 yrds. He did the classic jump kick like he had been hit and ran to about 20 feet from my treestand. As he stood there broadside I studied him and saw no wound and no blood. I figured it was a clean miss. As I reached for another arrow he jumped off in to the timber and to the edge of a field about 30 yards away. With no shot I watched him disappear. Thinking I had made a clean miss. I went back to grunting and stayed in my stand another 45 minutes. With nothing else coming in I climbed down and went to retrieve my arrow. Upon getting to my arrow I noticed it had white hair, some brown hair, a little meat and what looked like grease or fat. So I went to where he stood and found maybe 12 drops of blood. Went to where I last saw him by the field and maybe 6 drops and then a few yards 1 drop then nothing. Needless to say I searched for 2 hrs went home got the wife and we went over my hunting ground with a fine tooth comb. Nothing. SEE here is why when I shoot a deer I immediately get down and check my arrow and try to not let the deer out of my sight. I don't push it mind you but I WATCH it. At least I know where it goes. Now I'm thinking it was hit high in the back and will most likely survive that shot. But I will not stay put again. That is the first time and last time. Thoughts?
Live it up! Deerwoods Doug
Old 11-01-2011, 06:54 PM
MZS
Typical Buck

Sorry to hear of the deer that you were not able to retrieve. Sounds like you hit high on the back ahead of the lungs?