Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
Total newbie seeking help on getting started >

Total newbie seeking help on getting started

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Total newbie seeking help on getting started

Old 09-27-2011, 05:59 PM
Spike

Default Total newbie seeking help on getting started

Hey there everyone. I have been shooting guns and archery for 6-7 years now and have decided to make the jump from just target shooting to hunting. I live in illinois and have taken the required hunter safety class, but I have no idea where to start. I was looking at permits and right there my confusion started.
There is the lottery system and then land only permits and nothing seems to be clearly stated and its just confusing.
So I have a bow and a 12 gauge slug gun ready to go but I don't know how you pick the counties you want to apply for in the lottery, or I'm not even super keen on the lottery system. I have quite a few farmer friends in northern illinois that will let me hunt their property but I dont see the option for that permit since the land only states that i need to own or lease land.
essentially I am looking for a brief overview of how to get started, pick the proper counties to apply for the lottery and which permit to get if I'm hunting a friends land. All the basics for bow and gun hunting deer in illinois
Old 09-27-2011, 07:21 PM
Spike

Sounds like you need to get online or call your DNR office for some clarity. Maybe talk to some older guys who've been through it. Sounds very complicated to me. Here in Delaware all you do is buy the License, comes with four tags. Buy your buck tags, go hunting either on private or public land. Good luck to you this season, hope it works out for you.
Old 09-28-2011, 11:19 AM
Spike