Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
Do lunar/moon & deer activity predictors work? >

Do lunar/moon & deer activity predictors work?

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Do lunar/moon & deer activity predictors work?

Old 08-28-2011, 06:27 AM
Fork Horn

Default Do lunar/moon & deer activity predictors work?

First of all understand that I've been hunting deer since 1964, guiding since 1989, and doing deer research since 1999 (for 10 years). One of the things I looked at was if deer lwere affected by the daily position of the moon. I als0 looked at was how they were affected by any weather condition I could think of, if the rut was affected by the moon, and if monthly activity was affected by moonlight, gravitaion or electomagnetics.

The RUT was not correlated with the FULL MOON, moonlight affects deer on a daily bais, depending on how much light there is; moonlight and/or gravitational pull affect deer weekly (not daily) deer activity is afected based on the phase and closenes of the moon to earth, electromagnetics affected deer on a weekly basis each month.

There really is a lot that afects deer, but the average hunter should pay most attention to the weather. Her is an axion I coined back in th ealry 1990's

T.R.'s Game Animal Actvity Axiom:
If it is too hot, too cold, too wind or too wet, or there is too much human beavior or predatory behavior - the animals are not going to do what they normaly d. That, if you think about it, is just common sense.