Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
Shotgun Recommendations For Deer Hunting >

Shotgun Recommendations For Deer Hunting

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Shotgun Recommendations For Deer Hunting

Old 05-20-2011, 07:02 AM
Nontypical Buck

a 20ga. will take down deer size game just as quickly as a 12ga without the recoil, the 20ga is somewhat equal to a .50cal muzzleloader
Old 05-24-2011, 07:13 AM
Dominant Buck

Mossberg 835 "Combo"......You will also have the option of shooting Sabots or Slugs.....
Old 05-24-2011, 09:39 AM
Giant Nontypical

Originally Posted by doetrain
Do the 20 guage guns have the knock down power they need to drop most good sized bucks and large does? I'm not a gun expert by any means so I'm not that familliar with the 20 guage as a deer gun.
It sure does, unless you're Napoleon, then you need 3" 12ga mag slugs to kill a deer...

20ga has enough juice out to about 200yds using the 1000 ft-lbs of energy formula.

20ga about 260grs, which is about a .338 slug, of course not moving as fast, but I think few would argue if 250grs in a 338 is enough gun for elk...etc...even brown bear?

12 ga....385grs slugs? which is close to the size of a .416remington slug...

these are deer not cape buffalo.

I've witnessed deer shot at less than 50yds with 12ga slugs, think the deer was hit 3times in the heart and just stood there like it wasn't hit, then stumbled away 50 yds.

I really don't see 12ga killing any better than 20ga slugs.

The only deer I've ever seen bang/flop was a doe, probably a yearling or so at about 75yds with a 12ga.

I'd rather make a quality shot with a 20ga slug in the heart/lungs than a bad/who knows where shot with a 12ga.

most 20ga slugs should be lighter guns, less kick, more accurate, it's almost completely a win-win in my view.