Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

24 point non-typical

Old 12-06-2010, 06:21 AM
Fork Horn

Default 24 point non-typical

Well last week i made a post saying that i had never been so excited after having a monster buck on camera. Well now ive never been this dissapointed lol. Me and my good friend are the only ones that deer hunt this land. I have been hunting it for the last 10 years and i just introduced my friend to the farmer last year. I always tell the farmer if he needs any help to let me know and i will show up. My friend was laid off all this summer so he worked for the farmer for a solid month he missed 3 days out of the whole month. He told the farmer not to pay him just let him hunt which the farmer readily agreed to. So me and him put out 3 stands cleared shooting lanes for all of them, made 2 feeder barrels and put out 3 cameras. We have been hunting pretty hard since september with not much success. Rifle opened up on last wednesday which me and him went out. I sit in the milo field and he sits over the winter wheat well he is covered in deer and i dont have a damn one around me. he ends up shooting a doe and we head back to town. well friday i couldnt make it out so he went after work and gets out of his truck and walks about a hundred yards and 5 bucks just take off. the one we have been calling Gnarles stops 25yards into his run and just looks at my buddy needless to say that was the last time he looked at anything. My buddy calls me right after he put him down and lets me know the good news. I was pretty excited for him but at the same time i was very dissapointed that it wasnt me that shot him. I was acting like a sally for a lil while but now im over it and hope to get mine before rifle closes. good thing is the farmer says he has been seeing a bigger one than this and hopefully i can get on it. rant over here is a pic