Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Do you feel the recoil ?

Old 12-02-2010, 06:48 AM
Spike

its called adrenaline. youll be so pumped and focused on that deer that everything else isnt on your mind. Now im a bird hunter and this is my first year deer hunting. i wear ear plugs when bird hunting because my ears will ring, but when i shot my buck this year shootin a 2 3/4 inch sabot movin 2000fps, i dont even remember the kick or the bang. i was much more excited deer hunting then i ever am with birds thats for sure
Old 12-02-2010, 06:56 AM
Fork Horn

I hate recoil period!

When shooting at game I never feel or notice it but at the range I hate shooting anything over a .270 and don't care to shoot that very many times.

It isn't that it hurts it just I start to jerk and at times pull the gun up skywerd on the shot which make the acuracy terrible and causes me to have less confidence in my shooting skills do to poor shooting at the range. But like I said in the feild I never have had a problem hitting my target not matter the cal.

What works best for me is to get the feel for the gun and not worry about if the shots are perfectly zeroed in and have my dad or my son do the fine tuning of the scope or iron sights. Then I take the gun and if it is really close as it is usually with in an inch of the bulleye at 100yrds I don't shoot it anymore until I go hunting. And I repeat this every year.

I will flinch with any gun .22 or what ever, if i shoot it very much. I am not a small guy either 6'3" 245lbs. I don't understand why I have this problem at the range other than maybe the fear of missing. In the feild put me a deer out to 250yrds or so with my .270 and it is a done deal. I don't miss where i aim but do that at the range and I will be lucky to hit anywhere on the target at that distance after a few shots.