Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

blood Tracking a buck?

Old 11-15-2010, 05:59 PM
Fork Horn

Originally Posted by Rhody Hunter
yes check the thick brush . I have known people that have found there deer in ditches, under logs and brush ,in spot you would not think possible.
One guy told me a story were the deer ran to a nieghbors yard then crawled under the deck.
They can be hidden well in plain sight sometimes.
they can slide under leaves. double check the thick stuff
Problem is i am a college student hunting on a piece of land i inherited when my grandfather died and i can't get back until wednesday. Atleast i'll get a set of antlers if i find him. No meat though. Looks like i'll be filling my does tags this year...
Old 11-16-2010, 05:41 AM
New Sheriff

Will a deer actually crawl into the brush after being shot? i would think that would take the easiest path, downhill, clear, etc.... is this true??
Depends. I have noticed that a mortally wounded deer will run a straight path, regardless of terrain. A deer that is gut shot or flesh wounded will pick and choose it's path, usually the path of easiest resistance. If there is any water nearby, check it.
Old 11-16-2010, 06:14 AM
Fork Horn