Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Damn it man...

Old 11-03-2010, 10:26 AM
Fork Horn

Default Damn it man...

Well hear is the dreaded story no one wants to hear. First things first: this is my first year archery hunting. last night i went out and sat in my stand. about 30 minutes before complete darkness i had 4 does come out of there bedding areas and come into the field i have my stand next to. Then a spike buck comes in and he is 10 yards below me i am aiming to get a trophy buck this year so i wasnt goin to shoot him. well he is eating corn underneath me for about 10 minutes before one of the does comes in. i let her get to 15yards broadside then place my pin on the vitals and let her have it. well i watched it and it hit her in the shoulder a little high. i seen her run off with about 10inches of my arrow sticking out of her. i knew right away that it wasnt an ideal shot and there were deer still all around me so i waited 30 minutes before getting out of my stand to even look for blood. my buddy comes over and we both try to find a trail. now we didnt go far cause if she bedded down i didnt want to push her i was just trying to find blood so i knew which way she went. well we couldnt find a drop of blood so i decided i would take off half a day today and go look for her. This morning i get up and take my 2 sons out with me to try and find this deer. we walked for 3 hours this morning and in every direction i could think of. there is a creek that runs thru the property i hunt and i had my sons walk the entire thing without any luck.i searched under EVERY tree in the area as well. I am very dissapointed that i couldnt recover this deer. I am going tonight to my local proshop and have my bow zeroed in again just to make sure this doesnt happen again. thats the only thing that i can think of is that i must have hit my sights or something