HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   Scent Drags (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/333087-scent-drags.html)

rooking22 10-31-2010 04:27 PM

Scent Drags

Anyone had any luck with them what scents do you use most of the time?

BigDaddy12t 10-31-2010 04:56 PM

I have been using them for the past 6-7 years, and have NEVER had a deer come into my set following one. I am seriously thinking about never using scents again.

onion721 10-31-2010 05:38 PM

My very first buck with a bow came in on a Tinks69 trail.
I had a couple here and there, nothing worth noting.
This morning I had a coyote follow a HS Dominant buck trail past my stand, missed a 20 yard broadside shot :o
Sad thing is when he bolted through the thicket, he took some deer with him.

RangerJ 10-31-2010 06:10 PM

In 40 years of hunting I have had one doe follow a scent trail.But I have had countless dogs and coyotes follow my trail after using some type of scent.

Mojotex 10-31-2010 06:26 PM

I make my drag rag using pee from deer that I have killed. Not sure how well it works, but figure it does not hurt. I have done this for 40-45 years. Have had at least one extremely fine buck come in trailing the drag. Also have had a bobcat trail my drag all the way t the very bottom of my ladder stand. That was cool.

monkeyman2269 10-31-2010 07:38 PM

apple juice

hunt12ga 10-31-2010 07:46 PM

I have had Tinks 69 trails followed several times. I used to apply it at the truck and leave a trail all the way to the stand. I quickly changed this up when I had a buck cross my trail and follow it back towards the truck :(

I once had a decent buck chasing a doe stop when he got downwind of my Tink's bomb. The doe walked off and he hung out within bow range for a couple minutes sniffing the Tink's. I couldn't believe that he let the doe leave!