Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
How do you scent proof your gear >

How do you scent proof your gear

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

How do you scent proof your gear

Old 10-14-2010, 06:27 PM
Spike

Default How do you scent proof your gear

im kinda new to deer hunting its my 3rd season and i was just wondering what you guy and gals do you scent proof your gear, i usually wash my clothes in the no scent wash and dry them with the earth sent dryer sheets, than before i hunt i spray all my gear with the scent killer
thanks

Last edited by lonewolf1990; 10-14-2010 at 07:09 PM.
Old 10-14-2010, 06:56 PM
Spike

I hunt the wind or sometimes if the wind is really swirly I sit if front of a the camp fire and let the smoke hit me for about 10mins.
Old 10-15-2010, 03:05 AM
Spike

You sound like you are doing the right things. Don't be afraid to spray your climber and makes sure your weapon is free of excessive lubricants such as cleaner and such.

I really like the Dead Down Wind system. The best scent free products I have used. My success of seeing deer has risen since using.
Old 10-15-2010, 03:15 AM
Typical Buck

store your gear in plastic bags, it will keep the earht scent in and keep all the other stuff out
Old 10-15-2010, 03:58 AM
Fork Horn

I wash everything with no scent detergent, then i put them in the dryer, then i spray them down with scent killer, and then they go in a plastic box with a few dirt wafers. i stopped using plastic bags because they would have a weird plastic smell to them.
Old 10-15-2010, 04:28 AM
Nontypical Buck

Smile