HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   Input on strategies for this property (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/331804-input-strategies-property.html)

Gladius87 10-13-2010 12:31 PM

Input on strategies for this property

I have been hunting this property since 2000, taking 2 years off during college. However, I feel like when I have success it is due to luck. I have a very hard time deciding where to set up in certain wind conditions or which areas are better morning/evening spots. I would like your input on how you would hunt this property based on this aerial map. The area is made up of hardwoods with bush honeysuckle throughout. There are some red oak trees, a pecan tree or two, and the woods are bordered by cut corn to the west and (hopefully cut by now) beans on all other sides. I am allowed to hunt within the yellow box. Red dots indicate trees that I have marked for climbing stand. Blue dot indicates ladder stand. White lines indicate known deer trails. The prevailing winds range from NNW to SSW. The neon green line is a spot where I jumped some bedded deer last time I went out. They do not normally bed there, but have started to for some reason. I have a ground blind and climbing stand at my disposal as well.

timbercruiser 10-13-2010 03:52 PM

Is that a 10 acre tract? I wouldn't try to put too many different stands on that small of area, just a couple for different wind. You have it covered it looks like.

travis_ranger2000 10-13-2010 04:17 PM

Originally Posted by Gladius87 (Post 3701666)