HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   What is your position on this "Monster Buck rule" when hunting on his land? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/331062-what-your-position-monster-buck-rule-when-hunting-his-land.html)

MidwestBucksrock 10-03-2010 06:48 AM

What is your position on this "Monster Buck rule" when hunting on his land?

OK, I have to admit that I am somewhat new to White Tail deer hunting. I have been going now for three years. My cousin, who is also one of my best friends has a few places we can go hunt on because of his family gave him permission to hunt their land.

Yesterday, we were at a piece of property for the evening hunt. We watched 3 decent sized does and 3 yearlings playing in the field coming up towards where we were sitting. We had tree stands on opposite sides of the mini field. Then a Huge Buck came into the field. Still about 120 yards away. He had a clear 11pt rack. that we counted with the binoculars. His body was absolutely gigantic. Thick neck and looked very powerful.

He never came to close because as he moved closer, the neighbors dog (about 200 yards away+) started barking and the Big Buck and all the does got scared and bolted away. We watched him keep coming in for an hour or so before he got spooked. That was the biggest buck we have seen there this year and last year. He would have looked awesome on one of our walls!

As we are driving home, my cousin tells me that he doesn't want me to shoot that huge Buck because its his land. That he doesn't think it's right for me to shoot that buck because he is the one that got permission to hunt that land. Any other buck or doe is fair game.