Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Tips for a beginner hunter

Old 09-30-2010, 03:11 PM
Boone & Crockett

You'll learn something new every time you encounter a deer. I've been hunting for over 45 years now and shot a ton of deer with bow, rifle and muzzleloader. You will soon learn that deer are individuals. Some are pretty savy and others I swear are 'dumb as stumps'. These are the ones that meet their demise early.
I've once heard it said that for every deer you see there are two that saw you that you never knew were around. True or not, if you keep that in the back of your mind, it may force you to be more vigilant while your out there.
Remember though, the kill isn't the most important thing. Yeah, getting a deer is great. Especially for a beginner like yourself. But when you get my age, its just a pleasure being out and enjoying nature. It may sound corny but its true. I can remember several times when I drew my bow back and settled the sight behind the shoulder of a legal deer then slowly lowered it and thought, "Yep, I got you." Then watched it walk away. But not only was this satisfying for me but also provided training when and if Mr. Big showed up. And if I got busted, then it was another lesson learned.
Old 09-30-2010, 03:26 PM
Typical Buck

All the above are great tips! I might add, It takes time and lots of practice. Be patient and you will get steadily better. I hunted deer with a straight bow when I started. There were no compound bows then and it took me 5 years before I finally got a deer, but boy was it worth the waite. Good luck!
Old 09-30-2010, 08:16 PM
Nontypical Buck