Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Maryland Hunters????

Old 07-11-2003, 06:56 AM

Default Maryland Hunters????

Hello everyone-

This is my first post here in this forum. I am fairly new to Maryland (moved from PA), and I wanted to know if anyone here hunts Maryland?

I' ll be honest, I have a bad impression of the state so far. A lot of folks here kill deer, but I' ve yet to meet someone I' d call a hunter. I' m not blasting everyone - just relating my experience. Guys at work here consider hunting standing on their porch with a crossbow jacking deer after dark - one guy shot a big 8 well after dark and had it mounted. There' s GOTTA be some real hunters in this state - just wondering if there are any on this forum.

Thanks!!!!!!!
Old 07-11-2003, 07:27 AM

Default RE: Maryland Hunters????

What part of MD are you in? I live and hunt in St. Mary' s Co. and I agree, a lot of people seem to " Kill" deer and not be hunters. I, personally, am a hunter. How can I prove this, because I went deer hunting about 30-40 times last year and got one doe. Anyway, you just have to ignore or try to correct them. If they think that spot lighting deer is hunting remind them that it is illegal for a reason....it' s not fair chase and it' s dangerous. Also tell them that any idiot can go out in a field and spot light a buck but try taking that buck legally and they won' t have a chance.
Old 07-11-2003, 09:19 AM

Solax-

My apt is in Howard county. So far I' ve only hunted the Patapsco Park. Is St Mary' s on the E shore?

Thanks for the reply!
Old 07-11-2003, 11:36 AM

Grizz,