Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Storing your kill

Old 08-28-2010, 09:41 PM
Spike

Default Storing your kill

I'm fairly new to hunting. I'm going to go for a week long hunting/camping trip in December. How do I care for/ store the deer I take during that time, or should I drive into town each kill and take it to a processor? I'd like to just go once at the end of the week. I will be in south central texas.

Thanks for your patience with the new guy!
Old 08-28-2010, 11:50 PM
Spike

If it's warmer than a fridge, you should get it back to a walk-in cooler or butcher quickly.

Meat goes bad very quickly. You could theoretically have enough ice chests or a large enough space to cool a deer with ice, but it's not ideal.
Old 08-29-2010, 09:59 AM
Spike

Originally Posted by Gromky
If it's warmer than a fridge, you should get it back to a walk-in cooler or butcher quickly.

Meat goes bad very quickly. You could theoretically have enough ice chests or a large enough space to cool a deer with ice, but it's not ideal.
So if the ambient temperature is around 35 degrees or lower during the day, I'd be ok to leave it in the bed of the truck for a day or two?

Thanks for your answer
Old 08-29-2010, 10:39 AM
Spike

Default Hang It

The bed of a truck is not suitable, especially in sun light. If the temp. doesn't get above 40 or 42 you can hang it in the shade with the hide on. You also don't want to hang your deer in extreme cold either. Some people cut their deer up and use ice chests. Just don't let your meat lay in melted ice water.
Old 08-29-2010, 11:20 AM
Nontypical Buck

Can't see you getting that many days in the 30's in south central TX. I wouldn't want it hanging very long in temps above 40.
Old 08-29-2010, 11:24 AM
Nontypical Buck