Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Big Racks Craze

Old 08-27-2010, 09:13 AM
Nontypical Buck

Question Big Racks Craze

I'm new to Deer hunting,I'm 54 and was raised in the city most of my life so hunting is not something I was aware of growing up. I know a few people who have Deer hunted down through the years and I don't remember them being so much concerned about how big a set of antlers their Deer had. It seemed to me just geting one and it having a lot of meat is what mattered most. But now it seems what matters most is how nice of a rack it has. When did this become the most important thing when it comes to shooting a Deer? I don't think it's wrong to be excited about baging a nice trophy Buck but the shows seem to put all the focus on this alone 90% of the time. I'll be honest with you just seeing and baging a deer period is a great satisfaction to me. Just like shooting a Turkey even if he is only a nice Jake satisfies me as well. I consider having success on a hunt baging the game you went out to hunt and enjoying the whole expierence not just geting a trophy as being the measure of success. Do you agree?
Old 08-27-2010, 09:32 AM
Boone & Crockett

I think you'll find that everyone has their own priorities. Not everyone is solely obsessed with big racks.
Old 08-27-2010, 10:57 AM
Fork Horn

I am one for propper management. I shoot the does for table fare, and I let all bucks walk till I see one that I want. I agree alot of people only hunt for racks and that's wrong. One must do their part for heard mangment, if not big problems to come. NC just opened up Sunday bow hunting and the aility to use all our tags on does due to CWD threat and heard size.
Old 08-27-2010, 12:04 PM
Nontypical Buck