Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Scouting Suggestions

Old 07-25-2010, 01:26 PM
Spike

Default Scouting Suggestions

So I'm new to deer hunting, and have been trying to scout out some good hunting areas. I know this is a broad question, but what are things you look for when scouting? The area I'm planning on hunting doesn't have a lot of undergrowth because of a thick canopy, and I've seen occasional tracks, and the area has a mix of nut trees: Walnut, Hickory, Red and some White oaks. But, I've haven't run across any trails or bedding areas (at least I don't think I have), but have found evidence of old rubs on some cedars. So, any suggestions where I go from here?
Old 07-25-2010, 03:07 PM
Fork Horn

throw out some corn and salt block with a game camera...make them find you
Old 07-25-2010, 03:15 PM
Typical Buck

Originally Posted by tganz
So I'm new to deer hunting, and have been trying to scout out some good hunting areas. I know this is a broad question, but what are things you look for when scouting? The area I'm planning on hunting doesn't have a lot of undergrowth because of a thick canopy, and I've seen occasional tracks, and the area has a mix of nut trees: Walnut, Hickory, Red and some White oaks. But, I've haven't run across any trails or bedding areas (at least I don't think I have), but have found evidence of old rubs on some cedars. So, any suggestions where I go from here?
Hope this helps Early Season Scouting Taken from my website Outdoorarticles.info
Live it up! Doug
Old 07-25-2010, 04:03 PM
Boone & Crockett

Number one thing I look for is old scrapes, number two is food sources that the deer use during the hunting season.
Old 07-25-2010, 05:40 PM
Spike