Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

New to Deer Hunting

Old 07-05-2010, 10:51 AM
Spike

Default New to Deer Hunting

So I'm totally new to deer hunting, and as I look to the season ahead, I had a couple of questions. First, since none of my family is into whitetail hunting, I have few resources as far as land access and such, so I'll primarily be hunting on public lands (I'm in MO). Does anyone have experience using stands on public land, and if so, what type (climbing, ladder, etc)? Or, should I just set up behind a tree. Also, most of the land I hope to hunt (and that's close by) is heavily wooded, so I was wondering whether I should look into slugs or a rifle. I have access to both, but wasn't sure whether there were specific advantages to either for wooded areas (no restrictions in my state against use of a rifle). Lastly, I have lots of camo for waterfowl, but none that would be suited for Missouri woods in november, any suggestions on what's needed at a basic level? Thanks for any help.
Old 07-05-2010, 11:21 AM
Nontypical Buck

When you ask questions, always be prepared to get a variety of answers... then simply weed out what's best for you. LOL!

To answer simply, I'd suggest you look for a rifle. There are many out there to choose from. Something many people have used, including myself, is a Marlin 336 in the 30-30 caliber. With today's ammo you can shoot effectively out to 200 yards and have a rifle that will last you a long time. Plus, it's a deer killer!

Now for the stand question: