Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Shed Hunting

Old 02-18-2010, 02:21 PM
Spike

Default Shed Hunting

Has anyone had luck finding sheds yet?
Old 02-18-2010, 04:37 PM
Nontypical Buck

I've been checking my Trail Camera's for the past 3 months...from Dec,Jan and now into Feb and I finally got a few Buck pictures that I could tell had lost their Antlers.I've also been walking on the many trails they use across the open grassy CRP Fields,where they have been jumping and crossing the fence's,creek beds and through the woods.....so far nothing has turned up.........until today!

Kind of a bitter sweet find to say the least......when I was walking into the area where my trail camera is I put out some fresh corn for the Deer and decided to cut through the woods in the very middle where most of the snow has melted down.I was busy zig zagging around the large tree's that blown over in May of 2009 when I came up on a large skull and rack still connected to the spine,ribs and legs of a Buck I'm too familiar with....Mr. Big Crab Claws is dead.The Buck I have trail camera pictures of for the past 2-3 years was laying dead up against a small 3 to 4 inch tree.He was a nice big 10-Point Buck with 1 small 1/2 inch kicker and another 1/2 inch kicker coming off a brow tine.....I can't express how sad it is to find a Buck like that when You hunted him for 2 years straight without getting a shot at him,take your Daughters and Nephew out on the Youth Hunt and not see him and then hope he makes it through the rest of Rifle and Muzzle Loader Season only to find him dead in the woods!At least I can have a European Mount made out of him and enjoy him on my wall!
Old 02-18-2010, 04:47 PM
Typical Buck

there's been too much snow here in ohio.
Old 02-19-2010, 07:39 AM
Fork Horn

gto hunter...to bad man, i feel for ya
Old 02-19-2010, 09:11 AM
Fork Horn