Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

30 .06 tumbler?

Old 01-05-2010, 04:32 PM
Spike

Question 30 .06 tumbler?

Greenhorn to the scene. I am used to shooting a ball 5.56 nato round. this round tumbles very easily. I choked because the deer I was looking at for about 3 minutes was behind several bushes and branches. It was roughly 80m from me, zero wind, light snow and I was prone and my balls froze. I could easily see the kill zones but the brush made me worry about a clean kill. Swamp area is not what I want to drag a 200lbs animal over while crashing thru the ice. Question: how bad does the .06 with a 150gr medium grain round tumble if at all? Next time should I shoot thru the brush? I am an expert shooter by the Marines standards several times over. I am confident in retrospect I should have taken the shot but again, I was worried about draggin the deer, which I could not tell male or female due to the brush, thru knee deep water & making an ethical kill.
Old 01-05-2010, 05:34 PM
Fork Horn

I've never seen a 30/06 "tumble" although any bullet will deflect or deform if it hits something, including brush. I won't shoot through brush unless it's literally right up against the animal. You might also want to check regs in your area. In some (like mine) .223s (5.56) are considered too small for big game and not allowed. As I'm sure you know, shot placement is everything and not wanting to wound and chase the animal shows a great ethical decision.
Old 01-05-2010, 05:42 PM
Typical Buck

I don't shoot through brush.
Old 01-06-2010, 01:23 AM
Nontypical Buck

Any bullet will be deflected by brush. If the brush is up close to the animal, the bullet will probably hit close to where you are aiming. If the brush is away from the deer, the deflection may be enough to miss. Usually if you have a clear hole through to the vitals, you'll hit it.