HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   What type of bullet would you recommend? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/311127-what-type-bullet-would-you-recommend.html)

RAK 11-29-2009 10:45 PM

What type of bullet would you recommend?

What type of bullet would you recommend for whitetail using a 30-06. I am new to this but I used a soft point 150 grain to take my first whitetail. It didn't drop right away. I shot the thing at 180 yards. I see guys taking deer with 30-06 on video and the deer just collapses. I am new to hunting so please don't make fun of my beginner questions.

Wingbone 11-30-2009 02:07 AM

Deer are tough animals. Unless you hit them in the spine, neck, or the shoulder blade, most deer will not drop immediately no matter what you hit them with. A 150 gr. bullet is right for whitetails. I've used them for years. My opinion is that anything heavier won't kill them any deader and just tears up more meat. Aim well and you won't ever have a problem.

m.t.hands 11-30-2009 03:02 AM

It didn't drop right away.
if you shoot him in the broiler room (lungs) he is more than likely not going to "drop dead" neck/spine shots and head shots will drop a deer in its track but it is not a shot i'd recommend...