Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Is the PA Rut Over?

Old 11-27-2009, 11:23 AM
Ava
Fork Horn

Default Is the PA Rut Over?

I was asking dad if he uses any calls or rattlers and he came right out and said, "the rut is over".

So my question is, Is it really over for PA?

I want to take my calls and pack rack with me to try it out. He said he wouldn't stop me but he doubts I could get the attention of or call any bucks in with it.

PA Hunters... what are your thoughts on using calls and rattlers on the first day of rifle season or there after? Do you even use calls and rattlers? Could you also give your reasons for using or not using them?

P.S. I'm new at this <first year> so any info you could offer on this would be appreciated. Other Hunters are welcome to comment too. <Don't wanna leave anyone out, especially if you know about the PA Rut> I will be hunting private farm land in 2A.
Old 11-27-2009, 11:36 AM
Nontypical Buck

Im next door in NY, 2 days ago I rattled and grunted at a nice 8point that slipped away behind me, to try to bring him back but he acted like he didnt even hear me. that said, I dont think some other bucks wont still respond to it, and it defiantly shouldnt spook em, so why not?
Old 11-27-2009, 12:16 PM
Nontypical Buck

Definitely take them! I would not use them the first day to blind call unless you are hunting a very low pressure area. However, I would use them if I saw a buck and needed to get his attention or try to draw him my direction or maybe later in the week as most guys head back to work.
Old 11-27-2009, 12:26 PM
Spike

Default rut in pa

dont worry rut will continue for at leat 3 weeks yet in se pa
Old 11-27-2009, 12:58 PM
Typical Buck

ava...i have already shot bucks during the two weeks of rifle season that were trailing does...scent checking, etc