Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
New to hunting...needs gun advice.. >

New to hunting...needs gun advice..

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

New to hunting...needs gun advice..

Old 11-24-2009, 05:15 AM
Spike

Question New to hunting...needs gun advice..

Hello to all. As the title says, I'm new to the sport, and looking to buy my first firearm. Where I am, taking a deer isn't a regular occurrence; mostly turkey and varmints around here. So with that being said, I was wondering if you guys could tell me how many folks hunt with a slug gun with success? I'm looking at a Mossberg 535 ATS combo Turkey/Deer 12ga....any advice and feedback would be much appreciated. Thanks.
Old 11-24-2009, 05:19 AM
Nontypical Buck

Id buy the Remington 870 3" 12 ga. But thats just me, buy what you want....good luck.
Old 11-24-2009, 07:09 AM
Spike

I'd consider a good rifle. You can get amazing deals on deer rifles that will last you a lifetime if cared for properly.

I'd look into a marlin XS7 in .243. You can easily find these for under 300 bucks.

A step up would be a marlin model 336 in 30-30. These can also be found for dirt cheap, probably around 350.

Good luck.
Old 11-24-2009, 07:51 AM
Nontypical Buck

If your on a budget then that combo package would be the ticket. Word of warning though, slugs out of a 12 guage can be a real kicker until you get used to it.
Old 11-24-2009, 07:58 AM
Fork Horn

Many areas here in NY are shotgun only. So yes, they are very effective. If you only want one gun for now, the one you're thinking about is a good choice. Although if you plan to hunt varmints, use the bird barrel. The slug will destroy most of them. Then again.... maybe that's what you're going for.