Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
New Hunter, Deer Season Sat. HELP! >

New Hunter, Deer Season Sat. HELP!

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

New Hunter, Deer Season Sat. HELP!

Old 11-09-2009, 02:36 PM
Spike

Default New Hunter, Deer Season Sat. HELP!

Hi Gentlemen (and ladies), my name is Sam, I'm from south Louisiana and Deer season opens next saturday. I just came up with some money for my first rifle, but im new to the sport, and Rifles.. I do know a good deal about hand guns, but hunting gear is somewhat new to me.

im going to be hunting deer in the 2-400 yard range, and would like a rifle and scope combo accurate to 600 yards. I need to stay under $2000.00. Please give me some suggestions as to where the best places to price out online would be.. and i do have a bass pro half hour away if need be. thanks for the help, looking forward to hearing back.

I was looking into the Remington Model 700 XCR (.300) good choice?
Old 11-09-2009, 02:40 PM
Spike

I have a 243wssm and love it. It drops then long distance.. Hard to find the wssm anymore, they didnt last.

If I were to go buy a rifle tommorow it would be a 25-06
Are you going only for whitetail or maybe or some other big game one day with it? 2000k is alot.
Old 11-09-2009, 02:46 PM
Spike

Originally Posted by 243wssmslayer
I have a 243wssm and love it. It drops then long distance.. Hard to find the wssm anymore, they didnt last.

If I were to go buy a rifle tommorow it would be a 25-06
Are you going only for whitetail or maybe or some other big game one day with it? 2000k is alot.