Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Guess the age of this buck

Old 11-08-2009, 06:48 PM
Spike

I'm going to stick my neck out here and say WITHOUT A DOUBT, that this is definitely not an old buck. He's all legs. Put a normal basket rack on him and he looks like any other 1.5 year old buck(in the live picture) although he's a very impressive young buck. Seen lots of young bucks with the grayish looking hair before.
Old 11-08-2009, 07:07 PM
Nontypical Buck

He's 6 1/2 years old when you killed him.

Nice job and congratulations on taking a mature animal, who obviously knew how to survive several hunting seasons and predators... until you came along. LOL!

Nice pics.

iSnipe
Old 11-08-2009, 07:54 PM
Typical Buck

im goin say 4.5 when alive an 5an half when u got him
Old 11-08-2009, 08:03 PM
Spike

Nice buck. I'm not that good at judging age,but after looking at the pics. I really looked close and have determined that he is for sure 100% not gonna get any older . Congrats. I love the mass on him.
Old 11-09-2009, 06:58 AM
Fork Horn

He's between 3 and 4.5 years old. you can tell he's not a very mature buck because in the trail cam photo his back isn't bowed down yet, he's still pretty healthy and probably one of the younger bucks in your area. he's still a nice kill don't get me wrong, and that rack is a pretty cool one. But i'd say if you gave him another year or 2 he'd been even bigger.
Old 11-09-2009, 07:03 AM
Spike

what does his hoof print measure you can also get a good guess by his teeth i would say over 5 without a doubt but i would have to see his teeth and his hoof print to be more positive he might not be that big in the body but thats normal for older deer how many old people you know that are still all beefy not many deer are very similar once they go over there prime their body starts wearing down
Old 11-09-2009, 07:16 AM