HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   Could've arrowed him but..... (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/308769-couldve-arrowed-him-but.html)

uncle matt 11-02-2009 02:21 PM

Could've arrowed him but.....

....it just wouldn't be cool. Reeked of not fair.

A buddy called me to say there was a real nice deer on a small piece of property he was working at. Said it was pestering some does and hanging around. Bedding down & up, down & up.

So I headed over there. What I found was a nice buck ending himself a doe. He was bedded right outside the back door and the object of his obsession was bedded right along the house.

I couldn't shoot him. It wasn't right.

bigwhitetailbuck 11-02-2009 02:49 PM

So you didnt shoot it because its "girlfriend" was there!!??
I would have arrowed that thing soooo fast. Im no pro at scoring but that looks like a 160 class + deer

But to each is there own I guess

Champlain Islander 11-02-2009 02:50 PM

It is called sportsmanship and some have it and some don't. Super picture.

iSnipe 11-02-2009 02:51 PM

I believe you. There are times when a person has to make a decision based on their own ethics and no one is around to judge otherwise.

It's amazing how many deer(one a trophy) I see "AFTER" legal shooting light and could shoot them. I tell myself the same thing "I couldn't shoot him. It wasn't right."

I'm proud of you uncle matt for making a commendable decision.

iSnipe

NC Buck Slayer 11-02-2009 02:56 PM

i wouldnt have shot it either. i dont care how big it was. its not hunting.

Beezer 11-02-2009 03:10 PM

Originally Posted by NC Buck Slayer (Post 3492880)
i wouldnt have shot it either. i dont care how big it was. its not hunting.