Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

New to hunting

Old 10-14-2009, 05:19 PM
Spike

Default New to hunting

Hey I'm new to hunting and was wondering if anyone could point me in the direction of any useful links. I would like to go deer hunting this fall on my fathers land in the mountains of North Carolina. Thanks for the help
Old 10-14-2009, 05:38 PM
Nontypical Buck

So much to be learned! This site is definitely a good place to ask questions. Outdoor Life and Field and Stream are good outdoor magazines to read, there's just so many places to look, so many things to learn. Whatever you want, it's out there!
Old 10-14-2009, 05:54 PM
Fork Horn

Invite someone who has hunting a lot and they will teach you a lot in the first couple of hours and you will be hooked.............. Good Luck..
Old 10-14-2009, 07:21 PM
Fork Horn

Pick anything that has deer hunting, mags, books and videos. Go to a local hunting store and talk with some of "old-timers" about hunting and woodsmanship. It will send you down the right path. Learn how track a wound deer, get someone to show you the basics, it will take time and practice to know what too look for. That a few rambling thought of someone that was raised up hunting, fishing and trapping.
Old 10-16-2009, 01:43 AM
Spike

I agree, this is a great place to start to learn what you can from experienced hunters. Experience in the woods is one of the best ways you will learn, but it is a great idea to do some research as well and find good material.

A place i found a nice book with some great tips and techniques was here. I learned some nice information and tips from the book that is offered there. It's also nice to watch shows on tv if you have cable or satellite. Sportsman Channel, and Outdoor Channel have some really great shows that are good to learn from the pros.

Hope this helps, and good luck this season!