Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

2009 rut?

Old 10-11-2009, 05:24 PM
Spike

Default 2009 rut?

Hi everyone!
I've been hunting for the past 3 years and i am fairly new to this sport. I learn day by day on stories, experience in the fields and on the internet. I really never got the real deal on when the Rut starts. Does anyone have a logic real answer to my question on how to figure out the prime time of the rut?
Old 10-12-2009, 04:50 AM
Fork Horn

Depends on where you live. The rut phase is started by the shortening of the days and decreased light. Many people get the pre-rut and the rut confused. Bucks will start chasing does in the pre-rut phase. It is not until the rut phase when things are really geared up... If you are in the South, then usually the last two weeks in October to the first two weeks in November...
Old 10-12-2009, 05:20 AM
Typical Buck

similar to what spinner said, it depends on location...for me, here in PA, about the week of halloween is when the pre-rut chasing begins, is heightened during the first week of november, then the second week in november is the true rut...however, it comes in cycles, some years I have shot bucks with my rifle during the first week of rifle season that are hot on a trail of a doe, and that is not until the first monday AFTER thanksgiving
Old 10-12-2009, 12:49 PM
Nontypical Buck

Here in southwestern Pennsylvania the pre-rut activity starts to heat up around the last week of October. The only bad thing about Pennsylvania's archery season is that when the bucks start chasing the does and the rut nears closer, they (Pennsylvania take the season out.
Most of our deer are killed around Halloween and the week after.
Old 10-12-2009, 01:07 PM
Giant Nontypical