Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Hunting in the rain

Old 09-24-2009, 12:23 PM
Nontypical Buck

I like hunting in the rain.
Old 09-24-2009, 12:26 PM
Spike

Question staying dry

I have some Gor-Tex gear that has kept me pretty dry in the past, so getting wet is not really too much of a concern to me. I know deer hunker down in a heavy rain rain, and I am not very good at stalk hunting. So I was thinking on stalk hunting during a heavy rain to hide sound and smell to see if I could sneak up on one.Bad or good idea? I have a lot of options which itself is almost a problem.
Old 09-24-2009, 01:37 PM
Spike

i lived in Oregon for quite awhile and where we lived it rained all the time so if you didn't hunt in the rain you didn't hunt

i enjoy it myself but i grew up in it
Old 09-24-2009, 04:11 PM
Nontypical Buck

As said you can't kill em if your not in the woods. So I usually go when its raining because I have the gear to keep me dry. But where I hunt, I see very few deer.
Old 09-24-2009, 06:30 PM
Nontypical Buck

I try and stay out in the rain as much as I can. If Im in a box blind I will stick in out and try to stay alert. I will admit, I do see fewer deer when it gets beyond a drizzle. If it gets heavy and I put my head back and take a little nap, waking up every 15 minutes to take a look. I probably have missed many deer that way, but I don't think too many. I did fall asleep once in a ground box blind and wake up and have 3 does 15 feet away and I wanted to fill my doe tag that day too!