HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   advice for a novice hunter (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/303439-advice-novice-hunter.html)

castor0troy 09-12-2009 08:54 AM

advice for a novice hunter

Hi Guys,
i am new here and i wanted to find out some information about hunting in the usa.
i am a novice hunter from asia and interested in spending a few weeks in the US hunting.
i was in US last month and ended up spending 700$ for a 5 hour boar hunting session.
it was my first hunt and i did manage to learn quite a bit.
i am now interested in doing a few hunts this winter but dont want to spend a lot of money.
i have heard about public land hunting which is free but then i am not that experienced to venture out in the wild myself.moreover i dont have a gun permit in usa.
can you guys please give me some advice on how i can achieve the best experience on an inexpensive hunting trip?
few questions that come to my mind.
-are there hunting schools that teach you hunting?
-is it best to hunt yourself on public lands or pay some outfitter?
-do you get hunting guides who will come with you on public land hunts?
-which game should i start off with?

i apologize for throwing so many questions at you guys but any help will be appreciated.

thanks
Castor.Troy

tcl632 09-12-2009 11:26 AM