HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   I found this interesting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/302329-i-found-interesting.html)

Down&OutHunting 09-01-2009 06:04 PM

I found this interesting

So i was working on some homework tonight for my history class and it dealt with hunting and agriculture. To sum up the reading it said that hunting was better than farming and the life expectancy was more when people soley hunted rather than when people quit hunting and started to farm. The life expectany when people solely hunted was 26 and when they turned to agriculture it dropped to 19Basically because more people gathered where farming was taking place and disease spread rapidly. Just a little history on hunting thought some people might like it.

D Rock 09-01-2009 06:24 PM

As a history teacher I find that very interesting. :D That makes a lot of sense though. Think of all the hard work that goes into tending a crop. Hunting is must easier on the body. Civilization can be a nasty thing to accomplish. I for one would much rather live the hunter lifestyle.

BigBuck95 09-01-2009 06:43 PM

Hunting v. Ag

I can imagine that this is true. While farmers are a huge part of the economy, its not easy. Its a very hard occupation. Hunting over the ages has been fun, and not stressful. NOT saying farming isn't AWESOME!!!!!!! but the whole life expectancy thing isn't surprising. Thanks for the note! haha
:barmy:

Wingbone 09-02-2009 01:41 AM

There is a great quote by Edward Abbey that speaks to that: