HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   How to use deer decoys (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/301644-how-use-deer-decoys.html)

crashcoop 08-25-2009 01:26 PM

How to use deer decoys

I thought I would try decoying deer this year . I have never tried before and would like some pointers from others that have . I ain't young -- just an old dog wanting to know new tricks . joe in okla

#1Predator 08-29-2009 10:56 AM

Hey Joe,
Try setting up the decoy a good distance away from you but in your shooting range(Bow or Gun).
If you've done any Duck hunting it's kinda the same.
The one thing to remember is that if you have a Doe decoy the bucks will try to come up behind it and scent it, and with buck decoy's most of the time bucks will come up face to face with the decoy.You should place the decoy where you can see it broadside.
And use scents to add to the realism.
Good luck from another Okie!

crashcoop 08-29-2009 05:56 PM

Do you place them in the open or at the edge of brush ? thanks . joe in okla

D Rock 08-30-2009 08:41 AM

Decoying can be one of the most rewarding and frustrating hunting tactics you can use. I took the deer in my avatar using a Delta buck decoy, so I can honestly say I have had one work for me. That buck was the dominate buck and he was absolutely ticked off that there was another buck in his territory. He made a bee line straight for my decoy.

Other days I have wanted to throw the thing in the trash. The antlers Delta provides are a basket 6-point. Believe it or not it I have had several nice 8-pointers tuck and run from this thing. Your medium sized bucks just aren't looking for a fight. This year I am going to equip mine with shed fork antlers and see if this helps.