Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

shotgun slugs

Old 05-05-2009, 07:54 PM
Spike

Default shotgun slugs

Does anyone use winchester platinum tip slugs for deer hunting and if so how do you rate it's performance? I'm new to hunting with a shotgun.
Old 05-05-2009, 09:39 PM
Super Moderator

Default RE: shotgun slugs

Nope, prolly good tho. Slug guns all shoot differently. You're best to buy several boxes and see which one you get the best pattern out of. Than sight it in to whatever slug you get the best pattern with. It gets expensive but is worht it in the long run.
Good luck!
-Jake
Old 05-06-2009, 03:30 AM
Dominant Buck

They are expensive BIMO are worth it. Great speed with accuracyand lots of knock down performance
Old 05-06-2009, 05:09 AM
Fork Horn

I've tried many brands, just about everything made to be honest.. none shot better out of my smooth barreled modified choked WW1300 than the Federal TRU_BALL..2 3/4 inchers to boot, amazing performance and devestating on game... they aren't expensive either compared to most.. TRY EM'...report back also..
Old 05-06-2009, 07:06 AM
Giant Nontypical

Obviously accuracy is of the utmost importance. I am one who does not squeeze a shot on a deer unless I fully believe I am going to put my shot in the boiler room. I am not, nor will I ever become a hail mary hunter. So go ahead and try a few bowes of what intrests you and see what it does with your gun. You may be pleased, you may not or you may just feel there could be something a little better and to your liking.

Using an 12 gauge H&R USH I have one shot. Fortunately it always lives up to it's end of our deal. Personally, I prefer to hit a deer with the heaviest slug I can. Brenneke 3" Gold Mags & 2-3/4' Brenneke Heavy Field Mags.
Old 05-06-2009, 08:22 AM
Nontypical Buck