HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   Hunting Public Land (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/288855-hunting-public-land.html)

oujeff25 03-10-2009 08:45 AM

Hunting Public Land

I'm confused about hunting public land. I'm new to deer hunting, only been going a couple of seasons, now I'm hooked. My family and my wife's family both have land that's great for deer hunting, and most of the time I'm the only hunter withina mile section unless my brother is hunting.I'll probably never use public land, I'm just curious:

*Do you reserve a spot before the season and put a stand up that nobody else can use and that spot is yours all season?

*Or is it early bird gets the worm everyday?

*What kind of unwritten rules are there when it comes to public hunting?

*I can see where there would be many instances where other hunters would ruin your chances of getting something. Any personal experiences?

*What are the keys to successfully hunt public land when competing against other hunters?

These probably seem like stupid questions, but please wade throught the ignorance and enlighten me.

mauser06 03-10-2009 09:16 AM

RE: Hunting Public Land

actually, they are GREAT well thought out questions....if every hunter asked those questions, there might be less trouble...

PA is different from most states...we have a fairly large amount of public land...but we also have near 1 million hunters...most of them hunt opening morning of our rifle season...it can be very crazy out there...