Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Deer Processing ques

Old 02-02-2009, 12:09 PM
Typical Buck

Default Deer Processing ques

This may sound stupid, but i have been hunting for about 10 years. Each year when we get deer we field dress and then take them to a processor. I am considering butchering my own this year (here comes the stupid part) but don't really know where to start.

I guess what i am saying is i don't know where to take the meat from on a deer other than the obvious places like hind qtr etc...

Is there any help you can give me, diagrams or ?? to help me start doing this all myself?

sorry for the stupid question.
Old 02-02-2009, 12:50 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Deer Processing ques

Not a stupid question at all! I googled "butchering deer" and got 2,400,000 matches. That should keep you studying for a while.
Old 02-02-2009, 01:07 PM
Typical Buck

You have shoulders,hind quarters,backstraps ,tendrloins(or fish, what you want to call them) ,ribs and the neck.

its not hard to learn,if you watch someone a few times you will be a pro. i've taught about 20 people how to do it.
Old 02-02-2009, 02:23 PM

It is definitely one of those things you have to do a few times to learn. You can be as picky as you want to be when it comes to getting meat off a deer. I find that I usually get more meat off my deer myself than a butcher because I can take my time. Butchers/ processors have to do thousands of deer and often are trying to cut them as quickly as possible. I am not saying they don't do a good job but I like saving the 50 to 60 bucks processing costs.
Old 02-02-2009, 03:20 PM
Fork Horn

i process my own deer it took me a few times to get it down the back straps were the hardest thing for me but they covered most of your question
Old 02-02-2009, 03:23 PM
Dominant Buck