Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 Would you shoot a small buck 4 meat? >

Would you shoot a small buck 4 meat?

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Would you shoot a small buck 4 meat?

Old 11-25-2008, 07:49 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Would you shoot a small buck 4 meat?

I put "yes, anytime" but with a caveat. I'm relatively new to deer hunting and have a taken a doe. The goal is a buck right now, and I would definitely shoot a forkhorn. I don't know about a spike.

My goal last year was a buck with at least two points on a side. I passed on a spike and then saw hunting season swallowed up by bad weather and a funeral. That turned out to be the only deer I saw in my limited hunting time, and I'm tempted to take a spike this year if one shows itself. Once I''m over the 1st buck threshhold, though, I'll let smaller spikes and forkhorns walk.
Old 11-25-2008, 08:18 AM
Fork Horn

Yes I would & I did shoot a 4 ptr this year.
Where me and my sons hunt, you have the first two days to make it happen, then the deer move only at night and are high-n-dry.
Whats the difference if you think you shoot a doe & it's a button buck?
Good meat and a story to tell--Yes Sir!!!

Old 11-25-2008, 09:34 AM
Dominant Buck

If it's worth the drag out the cap gets busted, I'm not a headhunter.
Old 11-25-2008, 09:46 AM
Nontypical Buck

It's freezer first in my household. Absolutely.
Old 11-25-2008, 09:47 AM
Giant Nontypical

I don't imagine myself being in that position. But if for some odd reason, I wasn't allowed to have any doe tags and all I had was a buck tag, then late in the year I'd probably pop any buck that walked by. I hope my hunting situation never boils down to that though. Doe hunting is WAY too much fun.
Old 11-25-2008, 10:28 AM
Fork Horn