Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

deer fever?!?

Old 11-23-2008, 09:09 PM
Spike

Default deer fever?!?

So everybody's heard of buck fever, but this season I encountered a bigger problem which is deer fever. I've seen my fair share of deer with no problem, but today during the 2nd day of WI gun season, I saw 2 does come in and i just freaked. I had them at about 30 yards but they busted me and spooked. I spent 20+ hours in the woods this weekend with nothing to show for it. So I was wondering if any of you guys have any tips or anything to keep yourself calm in the stand. Also do any of you guys do anything to keep yourself occupied with you're bored as heck in the stand with nothing doin around you?
Old 11-24-2008, 06:53 AM
Spike

Default RE: deer fever?!?

im not an expert.But i try to take a deep breath before i shoot . That kinda gets the heart rate down.As far as bordem i take a game like texas hold'em,yatzee,psp,ect. Just play the game and every few mins look around but listening is the most important.dont know if that helps but thats what i do and take deer every year. good luck and hope you get 1
Old 11-24-2008, 08:10 AM
Nontypical Buck

I have killed deer for years and i still freak out over a 60# doe walking out thats the reason I hunt, but to calm down I focus on the shot and on a single hair on the shoulder.

As for the boredom factor. I have taken books but usually try to put my stand in an area with lots to view. I get int he deep woods sometimes and there just isn't enough to look at. I hunt fire breakes right now and continually scan the 600+ yards of road in detail it works rather well.
Old 11-24-2008, 08:38 AM