HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   how to rattle? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/273402-how-rattle.html)

curth83 11-13-2008 02:19 PM

how to rattle?

I'm going out this weekend for the opener of gun here in NY and I wanted to try and see if I could rattle a buck in. I have never done this before so if you guys could let me know how you do it effectively that would be great.

GVoverstreet7 11-13-2008 02:27 PM

RE: how to rattle?

well i've always used real antlers, that's just how i do it. but just start out rattling and do it for about 2-3 minutes. then wait 30 minutes and repeat

lucky_shot 11-13-2008 07:11 PM

people have how to videos on youtube.com

i've never had any luck with it though

ElkNutz 11-13-2008 08:21 PM

It depends on stage of the rutwhere you are and your buck to doe ratio. We have about a 1 to 1 on our place with 15 or so bucks that frequent the area. It works GREAT for me. I rattle for 3 to 5 minutes and repeat every 30 or so minutes. At this stage of the rut the bucks are cruising and looking. Chances are the deer that hear you one sequence will not the second time. You must do it often enough to catch that possible passer by. I rattled on Tuesday and had a diffrent buck come in on two diffrent sequences. The second came back 3 times to look for the fight. All in all, on stand 6 hours, rattled 10 times. You will have them act all diffrent ways from sneeking in to charging in like they came to kick anybody's arse, thats in the woods. Thething to remember about any callingisyou then become the hunted. After you rattle scan the areas all around you for movement and BE STILL! I have had them show up in 30 seconds and sometimes it takes 25 minutes.