Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 Questions about hunting public land >

Questions about hunting public land

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Questions about hunting public land

Old 10-29-2008, 12:17 PM

Default Questions about hunting public land

Hi, this is my first year bowhuntin, well seriously anyway. But I'm huntin some public land here in WI and I can't hag my stand and leave it overnight, and I dont want to try to do it in the morning cuz it's a royal pain in the ass and noisy. So I found some good scrapes, and I'd like to set up like 25 yards away as I'm spot on to 30, but it's gonna be on the ground. Any advice would be awesome, and thanks in advance. It's about 250 yards back in the woods, not real thick, if the wind's right I found a spot with about 4 good shooting lanes, but it's about 20 yards to the trail, so I'm conflicted I guess, don't know what to do. THanks again
Old 10-29-2008, 12:41 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Questions about hunting public land

You don't think your stand would be OK even if you padlocked it in the tree? I've done that and also have taken the steps out of the tree. The combination of no steps and a padlocked stand could be enough of a deterrent to prevent theft.

If it is illegal to leave a stand but you still want to hunt from a tree stand, make sure you mark your location well with those reflective tacks so you can find the place easily or with a GPS so you can find it easily. It's super difficult to hang a stand in the dark quietly and the only way I would think would be an option is to go in a very long time before daylight so you have a couple hours for the deer to settle down before dawn.

If there's no choice but to use a ground stand, scent control is going to be your biggest priority.
Old 10-29-2008, 01:09 PM