Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 Warmest Temp to Hang a Deer Overnight >

Warmest Temp to Hang a Deer Overnight

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Warmest Temp to Hang a Deer Overnight

Old 09-16-2008, 06:44 AM
Fork Horn

Default Warmest Temp to Hang a Deer Overnight

I am new to Maryland and bow season just started and I'm not use to being able to hunt with it as warm as it still is. I don't butcher my own deer. If I shoot a deer in the evening and have to hang a deer up overnight, what is the minimum temp that it needs to get down to in order to keep the meat from spoiling before taking to a processor the next morning?
Old 09-16-2008, 06:49 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Warmest Temp to Hang a Deer Overnight

I've done deer overnight when it was about 50 with no problem. I would think that one could go a bit warmer as long as you can keep flies off it.
Old 09-16-2008, 07:25 AM
Nontypical Buck

The concern should be what is the daytime/evening temp. If the temp drops to 50 at night, it was probably in the 70's during the day.
If I shot a deer in the evening and the temp was 60, going down to 50 overnight, I would get him to a locker asap.

Old 09-16-2008, 07:45 AM
Typical Buck

Pack it with ice! I shot a nice 8 point a few years ago, temps were usually warm. I hung the deer for one night, temps werearound 40 to 50 degrees, first thing in the morning I got about 7 bags of ice. I laid the deer on those cheap plastic painters tarps, packed ice in the chest cavity, and then put bags on all the major meat areas; shoulders, thighs, neck. I wrapped up the tarp as tight as I could. Didnt cut it up for three days, the meat was fine. I am forunate to be a member of our local Eagles club, so I get ice for $.75 a bag.
Old 09-16-2008, 08:39 AM
Nontypical Buck