Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 Why not wear a safety harness?? >

Why not wear a safety harness??

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Why not wear a safety harness??

Old 09-04-2008, 09:00 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Why not wear a safety harness??

I hunt only from the ground so i have no experience with treestand hunting and having to make a decision to wear a harness. I have seen some posts here where people mention that they do not wear one.
I am curious though. Why would someone choose not to wear safety harness? Is it uncomfortable?. Difficult to put on? Does it get in the way? Expensive?

Old 09-04-2008, 09:11 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Why not wear a safety harness??

personally i agree with you on this on. I really determine the need to wear a harness depending on the stand i am hunting. I have an oversized ladder stand with foot rests, arm rests, seat, and shooting rest that very honestly you would have to jump out of to fall. I feel very secure in this and only use it duing gun season.

For archery season however, we hunt alot smaller standsthat are primarily open for 300degrees ofshootingand a few of them are hang ons... Personally being 250lbs and only being held in a tree by a 1" nylon strap that has been outside in the elements for a few weeks just never set right with me....Even the ladder stands with no arm rests are kinda hairy for me to be up in...especially when that big buck comes walking in to you. Its nice to know that if i make a wrong step, turn just a little too far, or even lean outof the standto get a better shot that i am secure to that tree and will not be hurt if i lose my balance.