HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   1st year hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/260624-1st-year-hunting.html)

Crack3583 08-31-2008 09:35 AM

1st year hunting

This is my first year bow hunting. I been doing research and Ive learned alot but nothing is a better teacher than experience. I hunt in western NC. I have been rifle hunting for years. I was wondering if anybody had any tips or tricks.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.....

Rebel Hog 08-31-2008 10:19 AM

RE: 1st year hunting

ORIGINAL: Crack3583

This is my first year bow hunting. I been doing research and Ive learned alot but nothing is a better teacher than experience. I hunt in western NC. I have been rifle hunting for years. I was wondering if anybody had any tips or tricks.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.....
Ever hunt around Snow Cap?

GTOHunter 09-01-2008 10:24 AM

Lots of patients and use/shower with the scent-free soaps and use the scent killer sprays to hide your scent from the Deer.Pratice a lot with your bow and enjoying the scenery and wildlife around you will pass the time away!Good Luck Hunting

Crack3583 09-05-2008 09:27 AM

Not around Snow Cap......Im bout 50 miles west of Charlotte.....

Any suggestions bout scent killer?

UncleNorby 09-05-2008 09:40 AM

You'll need to set up within 40 yds or so (30 is better) of where you expect deer to be. That may/may notbe a big change from what you're use to. Establish known yardages to landmarks around your stand, so you'll know how far your shots will be. If you hunt from a tree, practice from an elevated position to see how that affects your shooting. Be careful about scent of course, including your routes to and from stands.