Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 Starting out...shotgun opinions >

Starting out...shotgun opinions

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Starting out...shotgun opinions

Old 08-20-2008, 09:36 PM

Default Starting out...shotgun opinions

I'm new to hunting.In Ohio, my choices for deer hunting are a shotgun, bow and arrow or handgun. I'm going with a shotgun, but would like some opinions.
I am looking at a Remington 12 guage pump action with a slug barrel.
Any opinions on something like this vs. a hinge action double barrel?
I am a woman if that makes a difference. Thanks.
Old 08-20-2008, 09:45 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Starting out...shotgun opinions

LOL being a woman does not make a diff. If you do not mind a single shot weapon. I HIGHLY recommend the Thompson Center Encore. It hasa 12 ga rifled barrel and you can shoot sabot slugs out of it.- I have one and it definetly gets the job done. reloading it would only take about 2.5 seconds. My fiance is 5'1" and weighs 115 pounds and she has no trouble shooting it.
Old 08-20-2008, 10:13 PM
Nontypical Buck

Might take a look at an Ithaca 37. You should not have any problems with the 870 though if you choose to go with it.
The double barrels I am not a fan of for shooting slugs because of the point of convergence issues with them, but it has been done before so I'm sure you can do it. You will just have to practice at different ranges with it to know where each barrel will shoot.
Good luck.
Old 08-20-2008, 10:45 PM

ORIGINAL: Odd_duck

I'm new to hunting.In Ohio, my choices for deer hunting are a shotgun, bow and arrow or handgun. I'm going with a shotgun, but would like some opinions.
I am looking at a Remington 12 guage pump action with a slug barrel.
Any opinions on something like this vs. a hinge action double barrel?