HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   Ballistic or (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/250168-ballistic.html)

A11en 06-22-2008 07:14 PM

Ballistic or

I've been shooting 180 gr Federal Premium Accubonds for the past two years. For this years deer season, I'm considering swiching to 150gr. What are your thoughts on the Winchester Ballistic tips in .300 WSM (or any magnum caliber)

I've also considered the 150 Remington Corelocks

Oneshot7 06-22-2008 07:18 PM

RE: Ballistic or

Ballistic tips are deadly and work well, as I have used the winchesters for the past 7 years. I am changing though for lack of a blood trail. They expand so fast that blood is sparse and you are better off on a marginal shot with a corelock. I may also be trying the Fusion, cant remember who makes those right off hand though.;)

timbercruiser 06-22-2008 07:28 PM

Bonded bullets only for me. I don't like the ballistic tips.

skybuster20ga 06-22-2008 07:53 PM

i hate any rapid expansion bullet. barnes and tbbc and even a corelokt, particurally the round nose corelokts. i supose for stand hunting they would be fine but here in maine we kill our deer by tracking and seldom get a good shot. i want a bullet that will hold together and go the legnth of the deer and get into the vitals if i have to shoot at him ruinning away

Hurricanespg 06-22-2008 09:04 PM

In a 30-06 I have used Hornady 150gr SST's on quite a few deer and all of them have done the job well....come to think of it all of them were pass throughs also. These should be quite similar to the Winchester Ballistic Tips.
Once again in a 30-06 I have used the Remington Core-Lokts, and they worked great also.
I imagine that for deer either would work well for you. Shot placement will be the key.

thndrchiken 06-23-2008 07:52 AM