Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 Good Deer Hunting Reference Book? >

Good Deer Hunting Reference Book?

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Good Deer Hunting Reference Book?

Old 02-18-2003, 07:14 AM

Default Good Deer Hunting Reference Book?

I have never been deer hunting before, but my new father-in-law has invited me on his annual hunting trip next fall. He knows that I have no experience, but I want to try to become as familiar with the sport as possible before then. I am an avid fisherman, and have been looking forward to getting into deer hunting for sometime now.

I am wondering if anyone can make a recommendation on a good deer hunting reference guide for a beginner. What I really need to start me out is " The Complete Idiot' s Guide to Deer Hunting" or " Deer Hunting for Dummies" , but I don' t know if there is such a thing (I did look on the web). I would like something that discusses different caliber' s of rifles and their applications, as well as the various strategies for the actual hunt.

Thanks for your help!
Old 02-18-2003, 07:54 AM
Super Moderator

Default RE: Good Deer Hunting Reference Book?

Check out the books by Leonard Lee Rue. Good books

Otherwise watch the movie ummmmmm, Escababa? It' s about hunting WT deer.
Old 02-18-2003, 08:24 AM
Giant Nontypical